Cart 0

President Thomas Jefferson

Third President of the United States 1801-1809

Thomas Jefferson was one of the most extraordinary Founding Fathers. He drafted the Declaration of Independence in 1776 and was Secretary of State under President George Washington. In 1801, he became America’s third President.

During his term as President, the United States acquired the Louisiana Territory that almost doubled the size of the nation. He also arranged the Lewis & Clark Expedition that opened the new western lands to exploration and settlement. He died on the precise 50th anniversary of the Declaration of Independence – July 4, 1826.

The 5¢ Thomas Jefferson stamp was first issued in 1856 and was the first stamp to depict Jefferson. The original stamp was issued without perforations and had to be cut with scissors from the sheet.